Read-a-thon.

0745:

Today is my first read-a-thon.

And, I’m missing the first few hours.

I’m doing good though, telling high schoolers how great college is. 🙂

Before I go, I wanted to do two things:

Share my stack (pardon the picture, it’s from my phone). Oh, and don’t worry, I have a few “fun” ones on standby in case things begin to get too deep around here.

And introduce myself.

Introductory Questionnaire

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Oklahoma, United States

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Death Comes to Pemberley

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Oh, there’s so many to choose from!

4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I’m a single mom, full-time student, enjoying a free weekend with a giant stack of books 🙂

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? This is my first read-a-thon so I’m not exactly sure what I’ve gotten myself into. I expect this to be a learning experience all wrapped up in fun. 🙂

I’ll check back in once actual reading commences! 🙂

1130:

I am just no getting home and feel like I am so far behind. Fortunately, I read fairly quickly! Unfortunately, I’ve missed out on a couple of mini-challenges already, though, I do have my laptop close by so I can check in every so often. For now, here’s the snacks I have handy at the moment.

Don’t worry. I did just have a yummy salad for lunch! 🙂

First up: Death Comes to Pemberly
As a Jane Austen fan I am so looking forward to this read. I’ve also never read anything by P.D. James and I’ve heard so much good about her. High hopes for this one!

I have curled up with a soft fuzzy blanket and am beginning page one. Drinks and snacks are close by and the weather notifications are enabled on my phone – just in case of tornadoes! I’ll check back soon!

1437:

Oh my! Big stretch and a break to do some cheering!

I am on page 90 out of 291 so roughly 1/3 of the way through Death Comes to Pemberley. I have become so engrossed in this novel that taking a break seems to be unnecessary, except my body requires the movement, change of position rather, and I’m curious what is going on with other read-a-thon participants.

And it’s time for another mini-challenge. I’ve participated in quite a few today and not necessarily blogged about them but this one intrigues me: Book Blogger B-I-N-G-O. Here’s the rules:

B – A blogger you’ve never come across before

I  – A blogger whose  blog name has the word ‘book’ in it

N – A blogger who lives in Europe

G – A male blogger

O – A blogger whose read-a-thon pile has more than 5 books

And here’s my list along with links in case you’re interested in connecting with new people.

BBookaholicmom

IBooktacular – (I thought this was fitting considering the month, and she’s posted about a review-a-thon that I’m super excited about!)

NNea Barabea

GTim – very impressed with his read-a-thon actually.

OKate

I hope you enjoy their blogs as much as I have!

1624:

Taking a break from reading to run some errands. Currently stopped at the beginning of Book 4 of Death Comes to Pemberley (page 135/291) so just over halfway there! 🙂 I’ll be back in a few hours!

1825:

Well, I am home from running errands and soaking wet. Yup. I got caught in a good ol’ Oklahoma downpour while walking across a parking lot! I come home only to find that my house has changed its status to “island home” while I was away. Seriously. There’s a river running through my yard and it happens to fork in the back yard, go around the house, and then meet in the front yard. If only the rainy season was also accompanied by a beach. In the midst of driving through this torrential downpour my phone beeps with a message: Tornado Watch Until Midnight. Guess I’ll be up late tonight!

I’m torn at the moment. I so want to sit here and type out my thoughts thus far in reading Death Comes to Pemberley but I don’t want to spoil it for those who’ve read it. I’ll consider this more as I read on. Back to it!

2114:

Taking a short break to stretch my legs and check in. I’m on page 214 of 291 in Death Comes to Pemberley. It sincerely does not normally take me this long to read a nearly 300 page book. Today has been interrupted by work and errands and that’s okay.

So far I am thoroughly enjoying this novel. It’s my first one by P.D. James and I so incredibly want to spoil it for you but I won’t. Suffice it to say at 214 pages in I’m uncertain of the actual details, what took place, the night of the murder. I’ve narrowed it to 2 potentials, one is way to easy to suspect which leads me to believe it’s not him, and a new person was just introduced who is vastly intriguing.

Oh, special thanks to the cheerleaders today! You guys have been fabulous!

Time for the mid-event survey: (in case you were wondering we are now in the middle of hour 15!)

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?
Mostly I’m good. Breaks are necessary though!

2) What have you finished reading?
I’m still on my first one but will be finished quickly. This may be a record for how long it’s taken me to read a book.

3) What is your favorite read so far?
Really enjoying Death Comes to Pemberley.

4) What about your favorite snacks?
I’ve enjoyed some sweets but am headed off for some protein and some fruit, need energy!

5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!
I’ve truthfully not explored much but some of my favorites so far are listed in the BINGO mini-challenge from earlier in the day so scroll up for those links!

0015:

FINISHED! (Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James)
And it only took 18+ hours to do so.
Seriously, that sounds insane but consider the fact I was working and went grocery shopping, among other random interruptions.

Thoughts on the book: I loved it. I liked that I didn’t know who did it until nearly the very end and I really enjoyed being inside Darcy’s head as opposed to Elizabeth’s head. Make for an interesting turn. Although, to be fair, there were several viewpoints used throughout. I also really liked the fact that James included aspects and characters from other Jane Austen novels.

Final thoughts before I turn in for the night: I can’t wait to do it again in April and am planning to be better prepared next time around. There’s even some plotting on potentially getting a group of friends together in one locale for the full 24 hours to participate in April 2013’s read-a-thon (I’m assuming April as it has been the last few years.)

Thoughts for next time:
– More snacks, well, healthier ones anyway. 😉
– Begin the day with an shorter, more light-hearted book, in order to ease into the day.
– Be a better, or at least more consistent cheerleader (Go #teamsmarties!)

On that note, I am off to bed! I’ve enjoyed this immensely!

End of Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? None really. Work and running errands kept my time broke up for  me pretty well. I also crashed around 0015 in order to be awake for church.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I only made it through one, Death Comes to Pepmberley, and would definitely recommend it. Although, I would suggest reading Pride & Prejudice and potentially Emma first if you haven’t already.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I think there should be access to a “newbie” post about what to expect, times, etc. I did have lots of help from Elizabeth.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? This was my first Read-a-thon so I have nothing to compare it to.
  5. How many books did you read? One.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Death Comes to Pemberley by P. D. James.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Death Comes to Pemberley.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Feeling lost in a sense because I was unsure of expectations as far as cheering and such, again, a newbie post would have been great.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I did not sign up to be a cheerleader but I cheered anyway 🙂
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Most definitely will participate as a reader, potentially an official cheerleader too.

 

 

 

 

 

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved. View all posts by Jenn

2 responses to “Read-a-thon.

  • ShaReKay

    Chocolate + Coca Cola = Readathon success! lol Have fun with the challenges. Go Team Smarties!! “So, please, oh please, we beg, we pray, go throw your TV set away, and in its place you can install, a lovely bookcase on the wall.” (Roald Dahl)

  • buriedinprint

    I hope you can get back to reading soon: you’ve got some great choices in there. I wish, now, that I’d added the James title to my stack, because it would have fit perfectly with my spooky reading theme for the day.

    “I am a very quick reader – I have as I’ve said, very large, squarish eyes that seem to be able to fit over a good patch of the page.” Jane Gardam

    Here’s to large, squarish eyes, perfect for Read-a-Thon-ing!
    Keep it up! #cheersmarties

Leave a Reply

The Perfectly Messy Mom

Figuring out this Mom thing Day by Day

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Finding peace in the pieces

A great WordPress.com site

Blog of the Henchman, Ray

"Here the choice is simple. To remain at play... or to turn and face down evil one last time"

A Writer's Journey

Resources for the writing inclined

TheSunshineStand

Weathering life's storms knowing somewhere the sun is always shining...

healingkai

Just for Me

Eagles Edge

Fresh ideas to make lasting impact

Refusing to Tiptoe

Living Life with Purpose

L.A.U.N.C.H.

Living to Advance Unreached Nations Choosing His Heart

Take Your Mountain

An Outreach of Seven Youth Ministries -- Claremore & Owasso, OK

JCV Creates

A place for me to create short stories, characters and more

Thefonz1608's Blog

A Blog by An Ordinary Human Being

davidwegley.wordpress.com/

The HUD for David Wegley

Other People's Ideas

There are new things, but they're mostly remixes.

