A Thankful Heart | Day 2.

Today I am thankful for a couple of things. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thankful for many things daily but I’m putting my focus on two things for tonight’s post.

Knowledge & Family

Family.

I know, family sounds like a given, right?!

Without my family right now my life would be crazy, upside-down. My parents have been amazing; over the last four years especially. How many 30 year old adults with children can say that living with family has been a great experience? It is because of them I am able to attend school full-time, finish my degree, and not have to struggle financially because of bills, etc. It’s not always peaches and cream but we are there for each other in any way possible and that is what matters the most.

My brother and his wife recently moved out of state so now we have a new place to visit. I do feel some regret that I did not reach out to my sister-in-law more while they lived close by but I am determined to remedy that.

And then there’s the boys. My two, not-so-little, rambunctious, little dudes. I love them to pieces and I know there are days when my wish for perfection overshadows just how much I love them but I’m getting there. Lots of hugs and giggles and winks from those two totally make any day better, regardless whether it’s good or bad. My days are exponentially better because of them.

Knowledge.

Not on the typical list of things to be thankful for. In my case, I’m grateful for the ability to not only learn but the capacity to retain and recall the information gained. With my school schedule I am always learning something but it does not stop there. I learn from my peers: different perspectives, views on various life experiences, opinions on how certain child rearing techniques have worked. There is a plethora of knowledge out there that is not in some fancy schmancy book!

Back to family for a second – and here’s how family and knowledge tie together.

I have learned so many things from my family. My mother is a college graduate and my father is not yet I venture to say I have learned the same amount of knowledge from the two of them over the years. Knowledge isn’t about taking a class, reading a book, or taking a test. It’s about gaining wisdom from those around you, whatever capacity they may be, and learning to apply that wisdom to your everyday life.

 

 

 

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved. View all posts by Jenn

2 responses to “A Thankful Heart | Day 2.

Leave a Reply

The Perfectly Messy Mom

Figuring out this Mom thing Day by Day

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Finding peace in the pieces

A great WordPress.com site

Blog of the Henchman, Ray

"Here the choice is simple. To remain at play... or to turn and face down evil one last time"

A Writer's Journey

Resources for the writing inclined

TheSunshineStand

Weathering life's storms knowing somewhere the sun is always shining...

healingkai

Just for Me

Eagles Edge

Fresh ideas to make lasting impact

Refusing to Tiptoe

Living Life with Purpose

L.A.U.N.C.H.

Living to Advance Unreached Nations Choosing His Heart

Take Your Mountain

An Outreach of Seven Youth Ministries -- Claremore & Owasso, OK

JCV Creates

A place for me to create short stories, characters and more

Thefonz1608's Blog

A Blog by An Ordinary Human Being

davidwegley.wordpress.com/

The HUD for David Wegley

Other People's Ideas

There are new things, but they're mostly remixes.

