9/11. Never Forget.

The following essay is something that was written a few days after the terrorist attacks and then continued little more than a month later. I decided to just write what I wrote nearly ten years ago rather than try to remember the exact emotions and thought.

*** September 14, 2001 ***

Today is Friday, September 14, 2001; A National Day of Prayer and Remembrance. I have yet to be  hit with the reality of the horrid act of terrorism which took place on Tuesday, September 11, 2001. I still feel as though I am having a very bad dream and will soon wake up. I know that is not true. I do not believe this is over. I believe this is just the beginning of what could be one of the worst wars to ever take place. Yes, all wars are bad but for some reason I can’t let go of the thought that this will be the worst yet. America is a land we have fought for from the beginning. We did not become the

‘Land of the free and the home of the brave’

because we let people walk all over us.

Am I scared? Yes! I am! I fear for the lives of anyone I know and everyone I don’t know. Especially those who don’t know Christ. Freedom came to us with a price and a sacrifice and it will most likely continue to be ours but at an increasingly great sacrifice. We will not go down without a fight and we will not  be quiet about it.

I am very thankful that President Bush is a Christian and has no-woes about quoting scripture on national television. Our country was built on Christian morals from the start and I believe that is something we have forgotten. The fact that our currency says,

‘In God We Trust’

has been lost on the citizens of the US. The phrase has been defined as ‘mere words’. I firmly believe that if we are to win this war we need to reevaluate what makes us as strong as we are and what has made us strong from the beginning. We need to realize that the words,

‘In God We Trust’

are not just words but a statement of truth; a declaration that somewhere in America’s timeline people did believe in God. America is a nation that, through many trials and tribulations, has stood alone. Even when a tragedy strikes any other country we are usually there to give aid in any way we possibly can. I can only pray that the countries who have received help from us at one time or another and have refused to help us in return will open their arms and their hearts to help win this war on terrorism.

*** October 2001 ***

As far as how long this will go on I have no idea but I do know that it won’t be short. The united States will come out on top – we always do – as long as we stand together for the duration. The commonwealth of Kentucky has a motto,

‘United We Stand. Divided We Fall.’

right now this needs to be the motto of the United States and of every American in the world. We need to let Osama bin Laden know that he has just awakened a

Sleeping Giant.

9/11 Firemen raising the flag at Ground Zero

 

 

 

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved. View all posts by Jenn

Leave a Reply

The Perfectly Messy Mom

Figuring out this Mom thing Day by Day

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Finding peace in the pieces

A great WordPress.com site

Blog of the Henchman, Ray

"Here the choice is simple. To remain at play... or to turn and face down evil one last time"

A Writer's Journey

Resources for the writing inclined

TheSunshineStand

Weathering life's storms knowing somewhere the sun is always shining...

healingkai

Just for Me

Eagles Edge

Fresh ideas to make lasting impact

Refusing to Tiptoe

Living Life with Purpose

L.A.U.N.C.H.

Living to Advance Unreached Nations Choosing His Heart

Take Your Mountain

An Outreach of Seven Youth Ministries -- Claremore & Owasso, OK

JCV Creates

A place for me to create short stories, characters and more

Thefonz1608's Blog

A Blog by An Ordinary Human Being

davidwegley.wordpress.com/

The HUD for David Wegley

Other People's Ideas

There are new things, but they're mostly remixes.

