What’s in a Name?

Before you even go there – NO! I’m NOT pregnant. However, many of my friends are which means that at some point during conversations the topic of baby names will come up.

I’m always amused at the methods people use to search for their child’s name. Some use family names – for obvious reasons. Some follow the trends – how many Nevaeh’s and Maddox’s, and Shiloh’s are there now?! Some have friends send them names to pull from a hat. On rare occasion, there are babies who go without a name for days, weeks, even years because the parents want to see “who” the baby is first (a la Lauren Hill of Sister Act 2 fame). Others still look for a deeper meaning in what their child will be called. I fall in this latter category. I prefer to know that what I call my children has a deeper meaning.

I am friends with one couple who gives each child 3 names but they search and pray and give them names that have very deep meanings. Even going so far as to “make up
a name by combining two family names. They also wait to reveal their chosen names til birth that way they’re not swayed by other people’s opinions.  I find this tradition of theirs very refreshing because it shows that there are still people who care more than to just follow the trends of the Hollywood groupies.

In light of this topic I’m posting my favorite baby names and in the event someone asks me my opinion, I will gladly direct them here, to my blog.

Here are some of my favorites:

Addison: Child of Adam {English} – Technically speaking we are all children of Adam in the sense that Adam was the first person God created in His image. I know both men and women with this name and it truly fits either gender.

Adonai: God is my Lord {Hebrew} – This is a boys name by the way but I could totally see it as a girls name.

Amelia: To Strive or Excel or Rival {Latin} – I’m going for the Excel part of this meaning. Image that with the middle name Grace – the meaning would be “to excel in grace”. Just a thought.

Anastacia: Resurrection {Spanish}

Arwynn: A Friend of the People {English} – Reminiscent of Princess Diana and how she was the epitome of the People’s Princess. Also, in the event you have a Live Journal account you can find me under this name but it’s been years since I’ve updated it.

Cadence: Rhythm {Latin}

Cady: Pure {American}

Charlotte: Free {English}

Eden: Paradise {Hebrew}

Hudson: Son of Hudd {English} – Just for the record Hudd means “Brave Ruler”.

Isabella: God is my Oath {Italian}

Lilianna: Combination of Lily and Anna {English} – So Lily means Lily – like the flower. And Anna means Gracious, Merciful. So together something akin to “a gracious, merciful lily”. Perhaps.

Logan: From the Hollow {Irish} – Logan to me sounds like a very strong name for a boy.

Lyric: Words of a Song {English} – What parent doesn’t feel as if their child gives song to the words of their heart with their every thought or movement?

Paul: A Small or Humble Man {Latin} – While being a small man can have it good points along with the not so good, being a humble man has no downside. Read Paul’s story in the Bible.

Piper: Flute Player {English} – I was a flute player so this one’s kind of sentimental to me.

Selah: Rock {Hebrew} – This is also a phrase meaning, “to stop and think on/about”.

Sonnet: 14 line poem or verse {English} – Okay, while not overly deep in its technical meaning, how many sonnets have you read/heard that invoke some pretty intense imagery and emotion. This is also a name that can be male or female but I prefer female.

Tikvah: Hope {Hebrew}

Victoria: Winner, Conquerer {Latin} – This is a girl’s name for all of the competitive dad’s out there!

Vivienne: Alive {French}

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved. View all posts by Jenn

Leave a Reply

The Perfectly Messy Mom

Figuring out this Mom thing Day by Day

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Finding peace in the pieces

A great WordPress.com site

Blog of the Henchman, Ray

"Here the choice is simple. To remain at play... or to turn and face down evil one last time"

A Writer's Journey

Resources for the writing inclined

TheSunshineStand

Weathering life's storms knowing somewhere the sun is always shining...

healingkai

Just for Me

Eagles Edge

Fresh ideas to make lasting impact

Refusing to Tiptoe

Living Life with Purpose

L.A.U.N.C.H.

Living to Advance Unreached Nations Choosing His Heart

Take Your Mountain

An Outreach of Seven Youth Ministries -- Claremore & Owasso, OK

JCV Creates

A place for me to create short stories, characters and more

Thefonz1608's Blog

A Blog by An Ordinary Human Being

davidwegley.wordpress.com/

The HUD for David Wegley

Other People's Ideas

There are new things, but they're mostly remixes.

