Hmm.

Romans 16:17 – 18

17 Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them that are causing the divisions and occasions of stumbling, contrary to the doctrine which ye learned: and turn away from them.18 For they that are such serve not our Lord Christ, but their own belly; and by their smooth and fair speech they beguile the hearts of the innocent.

Do you know how many people I should cut out of my life after reading these verses?! Seriously. Most of them. Unfortunately, that’s not a joke.

I was raised to be around people who are encouraging and uplifting, who will help hold you accountable. In essence, those I could introduce my family to. Never-mind the fact that my parents don’t know the majority of people I consider friends. Neither do my children. Taking that into consideration, I need new friends! Or, I need to encourage the few friendships I have that are of like mind, people I actually want to be around.

Somewhere along the line, my definition of “friend” got skewed. Very skewed. I’m not sure when but at some point it became okay to be friends with people who don’t respect me, people who I don’t trust implicitly, people who only care when it’s pertinent to themselves.

And the friends I do have who are encouraging, uplifting, and good true friends who keep me accountable – yup, they’re all out of state. Well, nearly all of them that it.

Flipside.

What kind of friend have I been? Have I been trustworthy? Have I been encouraging and uplifting? Have I held anyone accountable for anything? Or have I caved and failed at being the friend I know I should be? Am I the kind of friend who other people are truly glad they know? The one everyone can bring home to meet their families without cringing?

I’m not perfect. Far from. And I can tell you that I have not been the best friend I can be. Or the best daughter. Or the best sister. Even the best mother. I’m not the best at anything except being me and as such, I still have a long way to go.

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved. View all posts by Jenn

Leave a Reply

The Perfectly Messy Mom

Figuring out this Mom thing Day by Day

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Finding peace in the pieces

A great WordPress.com site

Blog of the Henchman, Ray

"Here the choice is simple. To remain at play... or to turn and face down evil one last time"

A Writer's Journey

Resources for the writing inclined

TheSunshineStand

Weathering life's storms knowing somewhere the sun is always shining...

healingkai

Just for Me

Eagles Edge

Fresh ideas to make lasting impact

Refusing to Tiptoe

Living Life with Purpose

L.A.U.N.C.H.

Living to Advance Unreached Nations Choosing His Heart

Take Your Mountain

An Outreach of Seven Youth Ministries -- Claremore & Owasso, OK

JCV Creates

A place for me to create short stories, characters and more

Thefonz1608's Blog

A Blog by An Ordinary Human Being

davidwegley.wordpress.com/

The HUD for David Wegley

Other People's Ideas

There are new things, but they're mostly remixes.

