A Proverbs 31 Woman.

Sometimes I think God has the most incredible sense of humor and likes to play jokes on me. Yes, I know this is not true (the joke playing part anyway) but I know I’m not the only one who occasionally thinks this.

In the last few weeks I’ve found myself “wishing” for a lot of things. Things like moving west, being able to stay at home more (even if it means working from home), being able to sew and there be a good quality to the stitching; just random things. Even to the point that I’m making hair-bows (mind you, I’m raising boys!), and bought a little handheld sewing machine so I can transform some of my sons pants into shorts or add patches because they’ve totally destroyed the knees.

I’ve also had a very strong desire to start dating again. But, not just random dating to date – date with intention. Intention basically means to do something with an expected result in mind. So, to date with intention is not an overly new thing in general. Most people who are open to dating assume that at some point they’ll be getting married. That’s kind where I’m going too. But I’m approaching it more as an interview rather than the chick from “Project Husband” who’s got her gown and date set and everything BUT the groom. I’m not quite to that point and frankly hope to never sound that desperate. I prefer to be chased as opposed to being the chaser. I want whomever I marry to want me because God truly put us together, not because of some trite, self-set deadline. I also know that I need to do some serious work on myself.

In the last year, I’ve had the desire to become more of a Proverbs 31 Woman. Now, I read this passage(Proverbs 31:10-31) nearly everyday as a teenager and had it committed to memory at one point so I pretty much could tell you what it said without looking it up but I’m going to publicly (the internet’s about as public as it gets!) admit that I haven’t read this passage in a while. So I read it and you wouldn’t believe how much I laughed, truly laughed, at this. Not at the passage necessarily but because of how literally it applies to areas of my life at the moment. And no, I’m not saying I’m truly a “Proverbs 31 Woman” but I’ve got a pretty good start!

I have posted below two versions of Proverbs 31:10-31. Both versions that I prefer to read (though there are many options!) and they’re color-coded so that all one color is the same version. Just an idea of what kind of woman I’m trying to be.

Proverbs 31:10-31

In Praise of a Good Wife

(Contemporary English Version)

(English Standard Version)

10 A truly good wife is the most precious treasure a man can find!

10 An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels.

11 Her husband depends on her, and she never lets him down.

11 The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain

12 She is good to him every day of her life,

12 She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.

13 and with her own hands she gladly makes clothes.

13 She seeks wool and flax, and works with willing hands.

14 She is like a sailing ship that brings food from across the sea.

14 She is like the ships of the merchant; she brings her food from afar.

15 She gets up before daylight to prepare food for her family and for her servants.

15 She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household and portions for her maidens.

16 She knows how to buy land and how to plant a vineyard,

16 She considers a field and buys it; with the fruit of her hands she plants a vineyard.

17 and she always works hard.

17 She dresses herself with strength and makes her arms strong.

18 She knows when to buy or sell, and she stays busy until late at night.

18 She perceives that her merchandise is profitable. Her lamp does not go out at night.

19 She spins her own cloth,

19 She puts her hands to the distaff, and her hands hold the spindle.

20 and she helps the poor and the needy.

20 She opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy.

21 Her family has warm clothing, and so she doesn’t worry when it snows.

21 She is not afraid of snow for her household, for all her household are clothed in scarlet.

22 She does her own sewing, and everything she wears is beautiful.

22 She makes bed coverings for herself; her clothing is fine linen and purple.

23 Her husband is a well-known and respected leader in the city.

23 Her husband is known in the gates when he sits among the elders of the land.

24 She makes clothes to sell to the shop owners.

24 She makes linen garments and sells them; she delivers sashes to the merchant.

25 She is strong and graceful, as well as cheerful about the future.

25 Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.

26 Her words are sensible, and her advice is thoughtful.

26 She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

27 She takes good care of her family and is never lazy.

27 She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.

28 Her children praise her, and with great pride her husband says,

28 Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:

29 “There are many good women, but you are the best!”

29 Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.

30 Charm can be deceiving, and beauty fades away, but a woman who honors the Lord deserves to be praised.

30 Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

31 Show her respect— praise her in public for what she has done.

31 Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates.

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved. View all posts by Jenn

Leave a Reply

The Perfectly Messy Mom

Figuring out this Mom thing Day by Day

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Finding peace in the pieces

A great WordPress.com site

Blog of the Henchman, Ray

"Here the choice is simple. To remain at play... or to turn and face down evil one last time"

A Writer's Journey

Resources for the writing inclined

TheSunshineStand

Weathering life's storms knowing somewhere the sun is always shining...

healingkai

Just for Me

Eagles Edge

Fresh ideas to make lasting impact

Refusing to Tiptoe

Living Life with Purpose

L.A.U.N.C.H.

Living to Advance Unreached Nations Choosing His Heart

Take Your Mountain

An Outreach of Seven Youth Ministries -- Claremore & Owasso, OK

JCV Creates

A place for me to create short stories, characters and more

Thefonz1608's Blog

A Blog by An Ordinary Human Being

davidwegley.wordpress.com/

The HUD for David Wegley

Other People's Ideas

There are new things, but they're mostly remixes.

