Fear.

Fear. I remember in youth hearing an acronym that has stuck with me throughout all of these years. It’s so very true. The real definition of fear is:

False

Evidence

Appearing

Real

FEAR.

There’s not many things I’m truly afraid of. I mean, a spider falling in my face while I’m driving will make me scream but that doesn’t mean I’m afraid of them. I really just don’t like spiders, at all. This may be why I taught my children to step on them at very young ages!

Heights are a relatively common fear. Me? I like heights. I can can fly in planes, climb trees, go rock climbing, even go up in the attic and I’m okay. I can remember so many instances from my youth that involved climbing trees. Even to the point I’d take a book out with me and read until my parents needed me.

Falling, however, is a completely different matter; and one that raises my heart rate considerably. The thought of falling from a distance of any sort and landing square on my bum isn’t so bad but then when I go up into the attic and have to climb up that ladder holding stuff at the same time (usually an awkward shaped box) just the thought of looking down freaks me out. And rock climbing, oh how I love rock climbing but it may take me some time to make it back down. That is, unless I’m attached to a few lines and can rappel down the cliff-side.

Failing is another one. I don’t mean failing tests or things like that but failing in life and more importantly failing my children. God gave me the most precious not-so-little boys and has entrusted me with their well-being. This is an incredibly daunting task. And right now, my biggest fear is that I don’t know how to truly teach them about God.

  • There is no fear in love: but perfect love casteth out fear, because fear hath punishment; and he that feareth is not made perfect in love.

Guess that means I have some work to do!

10 Fear thou not, for I am with thee; be not dismayed, for I am thy God; I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. 13 For I, Jehovah thy God, will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.

However, God is by my side and I’m so not doing this alone. I can trust that He will direct me and my words so that I am more encouraging to my boys as well as lift up His name.

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved. View all posts by Jenn

2 responses to “Fear.

  • Ash

    I like out the word fear is defined. It gives you a moment to really look at the word and what one meaning could be. Thanks for that.

  • The FonZ

    God is always with us but most of the time , we forget God ( but God never forgets us ). When some one mentions God to us, we start to shiver.

    Why are we shivering? Are we afraid of God? No, because God says, My Compassion preceeds My Wrath. Then why are we shivering? Because we ‘ Fear ‘ of forgetting God again.

    When you have fear, sometimes you shiver.

Leave a Reply

The Perfectly Messy Mom

Figuring out this Mom thing Day by Day

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Finding peace in the pieces

A great WordPress.com site

Blog of the Henchman, Ray

"Here the choice is simple. To remain at play... or to turn and face down evil one last time"

A Writer's Journey

Resources for the writing inclined

TheSunshineStand

Weathering life's storms knowing somewhere the sun is always shining...

healingkai

Just for Me

Eagles Edge

Fresh ideas to make lasting impact

Refusing to Tiptoe

Living Life with Purpose

L.A.U.N.C.H.

Living to Advance Unreached Nations Choosing His Heart

Take Your Mountain

An Outreach of Seven Youth Ministries -- Claremore & Owasso, OK

JCV Creates

A place for me to create short stories, characters and more

Thefonz1608's Blog

A Blog by An Ordinary Human Being

davidwegley.wordpress.com/

The HUD for David Wegley

Other People's Ideas

There are new things, but they're mostly remixes.

